Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love my crockpot! On the days when I have to run from school straight to after school activities there is nothing better than a crockpot cooking the dinner. It took me a lot of dinnerless nights to realize the crockpot is my friend. At 5 o’clock my husband and boys would look at me with hungry eyes and I would think Holy Hannah its my job to feed you guys! Then I would whip up some cheesy sandwiches which are tasty but not a well rounded meal for growing boys.

This is a great meal for a cold winter night. I serve it with a salad or cut up veggies and dip.

Cheesy Cowboy Casserole

1lb gound pork, beef, chicken, turkey, venison (browned and seasoned)
(I think it would be good with stewing meat. I will try that next time.)
4 small or medium potatoes sliced thin and cut into pieces to fit on the spoon
(we like a lot of potatoes in there so I add 4 medium sized potatoes)
1 small onion sliced thin and cut into pieces to fit on the spoon
2 cups corn
1 jar or can of tomatoes with the juice
1 can or homemade cream of mushroom soup
1 can of red kidney bean (drained and rinsed)
1 or 2 cups of cheesy depending on what you like

  1. Throw all the ingredients in the crockpot except the cheese. Mix well and cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours
  2. Add the cheese for the last half hour.

Enjoy!

 

